I know what suicide is.

Today is World Suicide Prevention Day.

You probably all know someone in your life who had suicidal thoughts or who commited suicide. Even in the news, the case of someone famous and popular like Robin Williams who ended his life this way have made us all think a lot about suicide.

I myself had suicidial thoughts a few years ago. Some people I know ended their lives this tragic way.

Because I felt rejected, depressed, alone and distressed.

Even if you have people to talk to, you sometimes feel alone. Very alone to the point that ending it all become the only good solution.

There is no doubt that suicide is an horrible thing. It affects people of all ages, all backgrounds of life and people who all have their own story to tell.

You can be rich, poor, young, old, man, woman, it doesn’t matter.

There is no easy way to fight suicide, but one thing is sure, to be open and willing to talk to people sometimes do all the difference in the world.

But life is worth living, as there are wonderful small things that someone could appreciate, even in the darkest hours.

Because life is not supposed to be perfect, but it’s full of small and big surprises which makes it worth living it as much as you can. This is how I got over my suicidal thoughts. It’s never easy and I sometimes wake up at night thinking about these events. But the greatest step is the first step, sometimes to just talk about it.

It’s however our duty to listen and give help to people in our lives who need it, like people did for me. Considering where I am today I feel proud that they had done this step to help me in my darkest moments.

Laisser un commentaire

